13.Nov.2014 | ID: 4137

Honda Civic Triumphs at Green Apple Awards

The Honda Civic was awarded two green apple accolades at the Green Organisation awards 2014, with the Civic claiming Gold in the smaller family car section and the overall Green Apple champion runner up for 2014.


Now in its fourth year, the annual awards are held at the House of Commons with the winners of the automotive green apple awards selected by the 28 members of the Midland Group of Motoring Writers.


Having won the prestigious gold award in the smaller family car section, being described as ‘a superb all-rounder’, the 1.6 diesel Honda Civic won the honourable silver place as the overall champion for 2014 and was praised as a car that continues to surprise drivers with its real world fuel economy, using less fuel than hybrids, while still providing enough performance to keep most drivers happy.


The 1.6-litre i-DTEC diesel engine was the first engine from Honda’s Earth Dreams Technology series to be launched in Europe and is exclusively built at Honda’s manufacturing facility in Swindon.


The engine made its introduction in the Civic and offers a class-leading combination of power (120 PS) and torque (300 Nm @ 2000 rpm) with CO2 emissions of just 94 g/km, giving an impressive balance between fuel economy and performance.


Rather than develop a specific, eco-focused derivative, the 1.6-litre i-DTEC is an extension of the existing Civic line-up, ensuring the variant doesn’t sacrifice any of the driving dynamics associated with the Honda badge.


Phillip Crossman, Managing Director at Honda UK, said: “Being recognised by both the Midland Group of Motoring Writers and the Green Organisation as a class leader, not just in one category but overall, is a fantastic badge of honour for the Honda Civic and we are delighted to have come away with two awards.”


- ends -



For further details, please contact:




Simon Branney, PR Communications Manager (Car and Corporate)

T: 01753 590193 M: 07824 866400 E: simon.branney@honda-eu.com


Monique Clarke, Press Fleet and Corporate Affairs Assistant
T: 01753 590372 E: monique.clarke@honda-eu.com


Keith Snowman, Vehicle Logistics
T: 01753 766887 M: 07802 642534 E: pressfleet@honda-eu,com




Rebecca Stead, Head of Corporate Affairs
T: 01753 590318 M: 07979 906150 E: rebecca.stead@honda-eu.com


Karen Parry, Manager - Corporate Affairs (media relations - car, motorcycle, power equipment and motorsport)
T: 01753 590768 M: 07775 035 220 E: Karen.Parry@honda-eu.com


Tara Berry, Social Media Manager
T: 01753 590047 M: 07872 103687 E: tara.berry@honda-eu.com


Emma Toothill, Internal Communications Executive
T: 01753 590206 M: 07872 103822 E: emma.toothill@honda-eu.com


Sharon Hogg, PR Events Manager

T: 01753 590707 M: 07887 678180 E: sharon.hogg@honda-eu.com


Selina Palmer, PR Events & Press Fleet Executive
T: 01753 590197 M: 07894 798593 E: selina.palmer@honda-eu.com


Tillie Smith , Corporate Affairs Assistant
T: 01753 590141 E: tillie.smith@honda-eu.com